estimated 315 billion pounds of plastic in the ocean

Moderators: Elvis, DrVolin, Jeff

estimated 315 billion pounds of plastic in the ocean

Postby Jeff » Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:42 am

The Fallacy Of Gyre Cleanup: PART ONE, SCALE

Posted on July 05, 2010

Team member Stiv reporting here. I will start by saying I'm not an oceanographer, but I am an investigative journalist by trade and I've spent the better part of four years researching plastic pollution issues from science to policy. What I've learned is that the problem of plastic pollution has very little to do with pure oceanography, and much more to do with waste management infrastructure, global economics/markets, polymer chemistry, watershed hydrology, and countless other disciplines-- in short, any solution, to truly be informed, needs to be derived from a multidisciplinary approach.

However, understanding how gyres work is of utmost important, and there are very, very few experts out there who can speak credibly to their movements. I've spoken with almost all the experts on how the gyres work (most notably Curtis Ebbesmeyer and Nicolai Maximenko advises the 5 Gyres science team), what factors affect how they behave, and what I've learned is that gyres are very difficult to read.